How I got Unity to (mostly) work in Wine

This post will simply be a record of what I have done to run Unity using wine on Linux. This may not be the best approach, and the process you need to go through might be different than what I have done.

What you will need:

The Unity installer. I installed version 4.2.1.

Wine. This is best obtained from your disto’s repositories, unless you feel comfortable compiling wine yourself. (Don’t. Just don’t.) I used Wine 1.7.1.

A small amount of skill with a command line interface. Not a lot, because I’ll show you the commands I ran during the installation of Unity.

To begin, create a new 32bit wine prefix:

export WINEARCH=win32

export WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine-unity

winecfg

The prefix has to be 32bit for Unity to run correctly. Next, get winetricks. Right-click that link and save it somewhere. Then run:

winetricks tahoma

winetricks d3dx9

winetricks dotnet20

winetricks dotnet40

winetricks forcemono

You might also need to install other fonts. If Unity doesn’t work at the end of this, try running winetricks and selecting “install fonts” after selecting the current prefix. Don’t install “all-fonts”, but instead choose fonts individually.

I’ve heard that creating the folder “$WINEPREFIX/drive_c/users/$USER/AppData/LocalLow” in your wine prefix will allow you to create new projects, but it didn’t work for me. Try it if you want.

Next is the fun part: tricking Unity into thinking you have a registered Windows install. Run your wine regedit (Windows registry editor). one way to do this is by using winetricks:

winetricks regedit

Navigate to “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\” and create a new string value. Call it “ProductId”. It doesn’t even have to have an actual value, it just has to exist.

Now, finally, we can install Unity. In my case, this is:

wine UnitySetup-4.2.1.exe

Install it wherever you want.

One last thing: I couldn’t get Unity to actually create a new project, so here is my workaround: create a new folder wherever you want a project to be saved. In Unity’s initial dialog, open a project folder, navigate, to the folder you just created, and tell Unity to open that. it creates the necessary asset folders and project settings.

That’s it. As I said before, this might not work for you if you are using a different version of Wine, or a different version of Unity, or for any other reason. Still, I hope this post helps you get started installing Unity! 🙂

About jacobwgames

I make and play games.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How I got Unity to (mostly) work in Wine

  1. Hi! I played some of your games on 1GAM, good stuff! I really like what you’re doing. I’ve been a composer/musician for 6 years and if you plan on making a game in December (or just in general) I would love to contribute top-quality, customized music to it! Please take a listen: http://www.soundcloud.com/lane-beckstrom
    I think you’ll find I’m versatile and I would love to work with you!
    For easier browsing:
    Electronic: soundcloud.com/lane-beckstrom/sets/electronic
    Orchestral: soundcloud.com/lane-beckstrom/sets/orchestral

    I understand you may have little or no budget so I’m willing to work for extremely cheap or for free.

    Thank you,
    Lane Beckstrom
    http://www.LaneBeckstrom.com

  2. Foo says:

    Installing ie8 let me create projects and fixed the “specified path is not valid” error.

Leave a Reply

