What I’m Working On: Critical Shots

This post is the start of an adventure. I’m going to start describing the new features and mechanics I add to my game projects, all on this blog. These posts may range from major graphical changes, to level design, to low level engine work.

Today I’ll talk about “Critical Shots” in Wheelchair Man. The concept of a critical hit is nothing new; many games (and not just video games) have had such a concept. Here is how I go about ‘crits’ in Wheelchair Man.

There are several different weapons, and each one has a different percent chance of firing a critical shot. For example: a pistol has a 5% critical chance, a shotgun has a 7% critical chance, etc. If a randomly generated number falls within the critical percentage, the fired projectile is said to be critical.

If a critical projectile hits an enemy (or something which can be destroyed), it will deal double damage. (Alliteration!)

If it misses? Well, then it misses. I originally was going to have the ‘criticality’ of the shot be calculated on collision with  a target, but once I changed it, I thought it made combat seem a little more exciting. And besides, it’s unlikely that a projectile (at least fired by the player) will miss.

Enemies also can deal critical damage. How is this conveyed to the player? Apart from the player’s health dropping by twice as much as expected, there is a visual cue.

Whenever a player or enemy fires a critical shot, a small but brightly-colored animation is displayed at the projectile’s origin (and when I have added sound effects, an aural cue will exist as well). This won’t help with enemy shots fired from offscreen, so I imagine I will later add a gleam or sparkle to those shots, if it seems needed.
So that’s all for now. Questions? Comments? I’ll even take snide remarks! I’d love to hear your own ideas for criticality and other aspects of Wheelchair Man, so feel free to comment!

About jacobwgames

I make and play games.
This entry was posted in games, WIWO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

